Joy and Heartache #solc24

She held up the little plastic dinosaur, her eyes sparkling and full of fun. “Is it a …cat?” I asked. “No!”, she shrieked with laughter, “its a dinosaur!” We played again a couple more times, each time my outrageous suggestions that the stegosaurus or the diplodocus were a dog or rabbit got similar reactions…. instant giggling and a loud clear “No”! She picked up the game quickly and now it was her turn to pick up a plastic animal (I think it was a horse) and, trying not to giggle, she asked, “is it a… dog?” On cue, I laughed and said “no!”, adding a head slap for greater effect. She looked on, delighted and tried again.

Almost 3 year olds have an almost magical quality about them. They are full of wonder, delight and fascination… endless energy and a sense of awe and amazement as they go about their lives. The impromptu game I played with my new little friend was delightful. She was right there in the moment with me- her whole little being laughing and playing along.

I came away from my morning of interacting with many shining eyed little 3 and 4 year olds, with a deep sense of gratitude and joy. How amazing that that which gives me so much joy is also what I get to call my job! As I recounted my morning when I got home, I couldn’t ignore the dull heartache I felt, like a knot in my chest, a sense of longing for years past, a simpler time, when my own children were that age. Soon to be in High School and Middle School, my own are long past the simplicity and utter joy of the genre of peek-a-boo games. Their joy looks and feels different these days – as it should. And as much as each age and stage has had a full circle of highs and lows, trials and tribulations and lots of love and laughter, that little preschool phase holds some of my fondest memories of my children and my role as their mother. I loved their energy, the mischief and laughter in their eyes, their joy at discovering something new or not being phased at something not working right away. I loved holding them and playing with them and listening to them giggle and snort.

I miss my little ones and that time so much it hurts.

12 thoughts on “Joy and Heartache #solc24

  1. I love this age, too! You said it- the “endless energy and a sense of awe and amazement as they go about their lives” is utter perfection! I could imagine the game you were playing and hear the giggles from you both. 🙂

  2. I love how you move from the laughter to the knot in your chest. I can relate to this bittersweet slice. Sometimes when I see a family with little kids, my heart squeezes and I think, “My kids used to be this small once.”

  3. You capture in words this age perfectly- “loved their energy, the mischief and laughter in their eyes, their joy at discovering something new or not being phased at something not working right away.” So, so true. Time to call my nieces!

  4. You capture this emotional transition so smoothly, almost delicately. While you concede that yes, it’s as it should be that our children grow and develop new interests, we feel your heaviness of knowing that a certain time with them will never come again. At the same time, knowing that your day-to-day is filled with the presence of very young learners provides maybe a small consolation prize.

    • Its a gift for sure, to be around youth and the very young every day as a professional. As a mother, it is a two sided coin of delight and sadness.

  5. Oh my.

    This is so well-written, insightful, and aimed right at the parenting heart strings. I see you, and feel what you feel so often these days.

    “Their joy looks and feels different these days – as it should.” And then you unpack it so well. Thanks for this share, I’m now going to look at old photos. 🙂

  6. I feel this heartache! There is just something magical about those early years. My own are 10 and 12 now and every day takes us a little further from that innocence. I love the ages and stages we’re in now, but I’d also love for time to slow down a little. You’ve done a great job capturing the whimsy of the littles and that tug on the heartstrings when our kids are no longer so little.

  7. I remember those days, too. I’m thankful for the memories of my children laughing themselves silly over games like this. And now I have a toddler grandson, already happy-go-lucky, so soon he can enjoy silliness, too.

  8. Thank you for this post. I also remember those younger ages where everything was funny and silliness could go on and on. The laughter. The simplicity (sort of?). The stage where any little thing could be made fun. And yes, the joy is different these days, but I’m so grateful to have it.

Leave a comment