Snooze button #solc24

The closer we inch our way to a break, in the relentless, exhilarating, stimulating schedule that makes up the school year, the more the snooze button comes into play, in my alarm clock’s effort to wake me up. This morning saw a record three pushes on the old snooze button. The pre-dawn child related wake up probably didn’t help, but even as I floated in and out of a dreamless sleep, I knew I wasn’t ready to give up the comfort of my bed when the chirping birds that make up my alarm tone, began to sing.

It gets harder, when you pile tired on top of tired, to greet each morning with energy and enthusiasm. I would like to think I get there… it just seems to take longer when I really need to sleep.

Tonight might need to be an early night so that I can be ready for another day of listening, thinking, planning, decision making, leading, parenting, adulting ….

In any event, my hunch is I will be pressing the snooze button a few more times this week, squeezing out a few more minutes to keep my eyes firmly shut and try to get as much as I can out of the last 8 minutes before I hot the shower that the previous 6 hours didn’t quite give me. Snooze it will be!

4 thoughts on “Snooze button #solc24

  1. You describe your snooze button as the annoying reminder of the many forces pushing and pulling at you all day long. I hope you get through this week and that break for the alarm you deserve.

  2. “when you pile tired on top of tired’ is a pretty awesome way of pointing out the exhaustion we all feel at times. Hope you get some zzzzzzz tonight!

Leave a comment