Lessons from an apology #solc24

I am sorry I snapped at you this morning. It’s never ok for me to talk to you like that.

It’s ok Mum, I know you were really stressed. You had to leave for school, you were worried about me being sick, you were trying to make an appointment with the doctor while clearing your crazy calendar and you were writing to my teacher.

(Me, stumped for words for a few seconds) Thanks, sweetheart.

It’s still never ok for me to talk to you like that. And please remember, it’s never your fault that if I speak to you like that.

I know mum. It’s ok, really. Thanks for saying sorry.

No it’s not, but thank you for saying that. I am working on staying calm when it gets stressful.

We learn so much from our children when we just pause and listen. I learned that my child is kind, empathetic and forgiving. I learnt that I need to continue to work on regulating myself when its stressful and that it’s ok to make mistakes. I was reminded that kids see all kinds of things we never think they do. I learned that genuinely apologizing had an impact and in the end was a win for us both.

6 thoughts on “Lessons from an apology #solc24

  1. Thank you for sharing this sweet moment with your kiddo (and normalizing that we all get stressed!) I too find that doing the repair work after something like this happens not only models this for our kids, but helps us see the empathy and understanding they do have. I hope you have a smoother morning today!

  2. I also believe in genuine apologies. But I hope you realize you have done so well to raise such a smart, empathic and thoughtful child. Telling the story in dialogue and using italics was a good technique.

  3. Such a beautiful conversation between two loving people in relationship. You and your child seem “kind, empathetic, and forgiving.” Such a feel-good post.

Leave a comment